Skip to main content

Panama City POPS Appoints New Directors

Panama City POPS Appoints New Directors

Eight new members have been elected to the Board of Directors of The Panama City POPS Orchestra.

Alfred Burgermeister, Margaret Cox, Pamela Kidwell, Al Leistner, Peggy McLane, Jen Miller, Tim Prather and David Scruggs were elected to the board at the organization’s June meeting.

Also announced are the organization’s officers for the year:  Constance Gittard, President; Scott Henson, First Vice President; Chris Josten, Second Vice President; Eric Howell, Treasurer; Laura Mitchell, Secretary; and Tammala Spencer, Immediate Past President.

Additional members of the board are Nafees Alam, John Bozarth, Lana Jane Lewis Brent, Denise Cox, Eric Krebs, Jack Lloyd, Leigh Anne Pattenaude and Cristina Rios.

The Panama City POPS Board of Directors leads the organization in ensuring that the duties and responsibilities of the mission statement are fulfilled, and has the ultimate responsibility for the overall success of the orchestra.  Directors are responsible for fund raising and financial oversight, strategic planning, and resource development.   Board members act as advocates throughout the community, providing others with further knowledge about the POPS Orchestra.

“Just this past week I looked at over 300 websites of orchestras about our size and 100% of them have a paid Executive Director.  The POPS does not,” states Dr. David Ott, conductor of The Panama City POPS.  “What this means to me is that this organization has been successfully run and kept financially strong by its board of directors, past and present.  This is a very strong group of community volunteers. I am thrilled to be working with them and have their skills behind us.”

The Panama City POPS Orchestra is committed to presenting excellent live symphonic music which engages and educates audiences of all ages. The orchestra provides collaborative artistic opportunities for area musicians and guests, and enriches the cultural impact of the arts in northwest Florida within a sustainable financial structure.     It is a 501(c)3 Not-for-Profit organization.